Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

headshot_jw_thumbnail

Jamie Wallace:

What I’m writing:

Amanda Palmer TED smIn case you missed it, punk/cabaret musician Amanda Palmer (more commonly known to some writer geeks as Neil Gaiman’s wife) recently gave a kick ass talk at TED on the “art of asking,” I watched the talk several times and enjoyed it very much, but I felt that a big piece of the give-and-take equation was overlooked: the giving that made Palmer’s asking to effective. Her approach to developing and marketing her brand is a study in authenticity, crowd sourcing, social networking, and the innovative new business models that are of great importance to artists of all kinds. Her talk is worth a listen, and I hope you’ll give my post, The Other Side of Amanda Palmer’s TED Talk a read as well.

no time machine smThis week on the Fans of Being a Mom blog, I waxed a little nostalgic for the days when my daughter was just a babe in my arms in a brief essay, I want to go back. It’s difficult to avoid occasional trips down memory lane, replete with the requisite angst and regret. My daughter is an only child and I do not expect or plan to have any more children, so for me those memories are that much more bittersweet. I know that, because of my first-time mom jitters, I missed a lot. I was too busy worrying about the “right” way to be a mom. I wish I had those days to live over. I would do things so differently.

What I’m reading…
Online:

Offline:

.

Lisa J Jackson writer

Lisa J. Jackson

What I’m Writing:
This week I’ve been pulling my calendar together for my series on owning/starting your own writing business that I’m publishing here on Mondays. I’m working with a non-profit on writing a strategic plan, and a start-up on writing a business plan. It’s very exciting. (And I’m finding time to work on that novel I mentioned last week.)

What I’m Reading:
Fiction: This week included a couple of novels by Brett Battles, and now I’m finishing a novel by Charlaine Harris (that has been partially read and sitting in my TBR pile for months), “From Dead to Worse.”

Online: Here are some blogs I enjoy: Susan P. Cooper’s Finding Our Way Now which includes little personal stories, great recipes, and posts about wine (I love trying new wines). Donna McNicol’s My Write Spot where she talks about her writing and other writing. And Married with Luggage – posts from a couple who sold everything in order to travel the world and found they love the lifestyle.

Susan Nye:

What I’m Writing:
I’m a skier, thankful for the recent snow and warmer weather so this week I wrote about spring skiing. You can find the story on my blog Around the Table. Since it is a food blog, I’ve added my recipe for my Decadent Mac & Cheese. The recipe has been kid and adult tested and passed both with flying colors.

Every Thursday or Friday, I create a seasonal menu with links to the recipes. This weekend it is comfort food with Mac & Cheese, some comfy starters and brownies for dessert.

What I’m reading:
I follow a couple of photoblogs. If you like architecture, design and photography, you might like one of my favorites: Hovercraftdoggy.

Out & About:
And just like that, I have the audacity to create a new category. Why? Because I’ll have little time for writing or reading on Saturday. I will be out and about judging chocolate at Chocolate Fest. Chocolate lovers are invited to stop by and enjoy a sweet taste or twelve. It’s all happening at Colby-Sawyer College in New London on Saturday, March 9th (that’s today).

photo: M. Shafer

photo: M. Shafer

.

Deborah Lee Luskin:
For me, the big event of this week was neither reading nor writing but moderating my town’s annual meeting, where we vote on our budget. Those with curiosity and/or insomnia can watch gavel-to-gavel coverage by going to brattleborotv.org.  Watch Local  Shows on Demand (upper right) > 2013 Town Meeting Day > 2013 Newfane Town Mtg. That took up most of Monday (preparation) and Tuesday (execution and recovery); Wednesday I worked a freelance job for pay, and Thursday, I traveled out-of-state to research something for my current novel (Ellen). Friday, I sat down and worked on Ellen.

3 thoughts on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. Pingback: Saturday Edition – What I’m Writing and Reading | Moving Notion

Leave a comment